

THE CIS EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2018 IN PARTNERSHIP WITH



The Sustainable Business Award, sponsored by Green Tourism and Seafood Scotland

Winner: The Scottish Café & Restaurant, Edinburgh Finalists: BaxterStorey Scotland Hickory, Edinburgh

The Business Innovation Award, sponsored by Sodexo

Winner: Chefs Eye Tech Finalists: The Scottish Salmon Company, Edinburgh Shepherd Filters UK

The Healthier Scotland Award, sponsored by the healthyliving award, in association with NHS Health Scotland

Winner: ESS Offshore Food and Nutrition Team Finalists: Aramark @ Aegon Buchanan Bistro, Aberdeenshire

The Training and Employee Retention Award, sponsored by Caterer.com

Winner: Auchrannie Leisure Ltd, Isle of Arran

Highly Commended: North Lanarkshire Council

Finalist:

City of Glasgow College / Calmac Hospitality Apprenticeship

The Employee of the Year Award, sponsored by Fresh Food Company

Winner: Samantha Wright, The Dunstane Houses, Edinburgh

Finalists: Stephanie Baxter, Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central Robert McPhee, Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa Katie Sillars, Bidfood Scotland

The Pub Excellence Award, sponsored by KraftHeinz Foodservice

Winner: Nobles Café Bar & Restaurant, Edinburgh

Finalists: Rabble Taphouse & Grill, Edinburgh Scran and Scallie, Edinburgh

The Banqueting and Events Chef Award, co-sponsored by ASA Recruitment and Tilda

Winner: Andrew Laycock, Wilde Thyme Catering

Finalists: Scott Brodowski, Hickory Brian Canale, Heritage Portfolio Ann Milne, Hudsons Catering

The Restaurant Newcomer of the Year Award, sponsored by Kafoodle

Winner: The Spanish Butcher, Glasgow

Finalists: Colonnades at the Signet Library, Edinburgh Sugar Boat, Helensburgh

The Food Tourism Award, sponsored by Bidfood Scotland

Winner: Eat on the Green, Ellon

Finalists: Ballintaggart Farm, Pitlochry Salar Smokehouse Ltd, South Uist

The Hospitality Educator of the Year Award, sponsored by CH&Co Group

Winner: Tony Budde, Dumfries and Galloway College

Finalists: Kenneth Hett, City of Glasgow College Vicki Munro, SRUC Elmwood College

The Independent Hotel of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Bruce Stevenson Insurance Brokers and the Royal Bank of Scotland

Winner: The Douglas Hotel, Isle of Arran

Finalists: The Dunstane Houses, Edinburgh The Lovat Loch Ness, Fort Augustus

The Patisserie Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Callebaut

Winner: Gary Millard

Finalist: Stephen Espouy, The Royal Yacht Britannia, Edinburgh

The Group Hotel of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Instock

Winner: Skeabost House Hotel, Isle of Skye

Finalists: Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh – The Caledonian

The Young Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by Brakes Scotland

Winner: Craig Palmer, Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen

Finalists: Kevin McCafferty, City of Glasgow College Conor McLean, The Cellar, Anstruther

The Restaurant of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Aramark and Olleco

Winner: The Three Chimneys, Isle of Skye

Finalists: Gamba, Glasgow L'escargot blanc, Edinburgh

The Chef of the Year Award, sponsored by BaxterStorey Scotland

Winner: Geoffrey Smeddle, The Peat Inn, St Andrews

Finalists: Fred Berkmiller, L'escargot Restaurants, Edinburgh Billy Boyter, The Cellar Restaurant, Anstruther Brian Grigor, The Balmoral Hotel, Edinburgh Paul Wedgwood, Wedgwood The Restaurant, Edinburgh

The Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Braehead Foods:

Bill and Cath Costley, Costley & Costley Hoteliers